Bay News Community Morro Bay Sports

Windansea Surf Club Wins Big, Bad & Ugly

Waves weren’t particularly big or exactly ugly, but some of the baddest amateur surfers on the West Coast converged for the Annual Big, Bad & Ugly Surf Contest held Feb. 17-18 at Morro Rock, hosted by the Estero Bay Surf Club and sanctioned by the Coalition of Longboard Surf Clubs. The Coalition includes surfing clubs from Pacifica on the San Francisco Peninsula to San Diego.

More than 200 surfers took part in the 2-day contest that had surfers from kids under-13 to men 70-over. There were longboard and shortboard categories and even stand-up paddlers. Ten teams took part, and their order of finish was: 1st Windansea Surf Club (WSC, 3350 points, San Diego); 2nd Estero Bay Surf Club (EBSC, 3320); 3rd Pedro Point Surf Club (PPSC, 1,420, San Francisco); 4th Santa Cruz Longbopard Union (SCLU, 1,290); 5th Malibu Surfing Association (MSA); 6th Huntington Beach Longboard Crew (HBLC); 7th Santa Barbara Surf Club (SBSC); 8th Doheny Longboard Surfing Association (DLSA-Huntington Beach); 9th Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club (OLSC); and 10th Big Stick Surfing Association (BSSA, Capitola).

Top-3 winners and their clubs by division were:

Standup Paddle Board — 1st Perry Shoemake EBCS; 2nd Rusty Burchell EBSC; 3rd Jeff Cloark PPSC.

Senior Legend Longboard Men 70+ — 1st Jim Garison OLSC; 2nd Ken Stemwedel EBSC; 3rd Gene Doughty EBSC.

Grand Master LB Men 50-59 — 1st Jon Roseman WSC; 2nd Matt Micuda SCLU; 3rd CPRO Supersoul.

Master LB Men 40-49 — 1st Mike Meyers WSC; 2nd Brian McEvilly; 3rd Patrick Phillips.

Master LB Women 50+ — 1st Jane McKenzie SCLU; 2nd Miranda Joseph; 3rd Indy Callaway WSC.

Senior LB Women 35-49 — 1st Beth O’Rourke MSA; 2nd Taren Freeh EBSC; 3rd Colleen Knos WSC.

Junior LB Men 14-19 — 1st Lorenzo Villela WSC; 2nd Jack Henderson SCLU; 3rd Levy Krull EBSC.

Senior LB Men 30-39 — 1st Isaac Wood WSC; 2nd Ryan Devine PPSC; 3rd Kellen Lovell WSC.

Junior LB Women 14-19 — 1st Kaira Wallace PPSC; 2nd Hana McEvilly WSC; 3rd Emily Flavin.

Women LB 20-34 — 1st Emily Flannagan PPSC; 2nd Lauren Barker ENSC; 3rd Julia Donath WSC.

Men LB 20-29 — 1st Jeary Kennedy EBSC; 2nd Tristen Soul Sullaway WSC; 3rd Patrick Neil EBSC.

Shortboard Women Open — 1st Miranda Joseph WSC; 2nd Indy Callaway WSC; 3rd Beth O’Roarke MSA.

SB Men 40+ — 1st Danny Hart EBSC; 2nd Kevin Swanson EBSC; 3rd Tom Kellerman EBSC.

Shortboard Men Under-40 — 1st Lorenzo Vilella WSC; 2nd Mac Reinhart EBSC; 3rd Levy Krull.

Menehunes 11-Under — 1st Laird Fitzmaurice; 2nd Zoe Ann Watson; 3rd Anders Schuerfeld.

Groms 13-Under — 1st Ryker Robson, 2nd Shelby Woodman; 3rd Laird Fitzmaurice.

Dogmeat Finals — Cancelled.

Photos and Story by Neil Farrell

Facebook Comments

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Current Issue

Delivered to your inbox

Holiday Guide